

भारत निर्वाचन आयोग Election Commission of India

निर्वाचन सदन NIRVACHAN SADAN अशोक रोड, नई दिल्ली- 110001 ASHOKA ROAD, NEW DELHI-110001

No. 318/CS-Multi/2/2024/BE

Dated: 31st January, 2024

To,

m1 (11		1	
The (Chief Secr	'etaries i	to the	GOVE. OF

- 1. Andhra Pradesh, Amaravati-522238
- 2. Telangana, Hyderabad 500004
- 3. Chhattisgarh, Raipur 492001
- 4. Madhya Pradesh, Bhopal -462011
- 5. Gujarat, Gandhinagar 382010
- 6. Karnataka, Bengaluru 560001
- 7. Odisha, Bhubaneswar -751001
- 8. Maharashtra, Mumbai -400032

- 9. Haryana, Chandigarh -143015
- 10. Rajasthan, Jaipur -302005
- 11. Uttar Pradesh, Lucknow 226001
- 12. Uttarakhand, Dehradun 248001
- 13. Bihar, Patna 800015
- 14. Himachal Pradesh, Shimla 171002
- 15. West Bengal, Kolkata 711102

Sub: - Biennial Elections to the Council of States - 2024 - Electors under preventive detention-Reg.

Sir/Madam,

I am directed to invite your attention to Rule 21 of the Conduct of Elections Rules, 1961, which provides that the appropriate Government shall, within 15 days of the calling of an election, ascertain and intimate to the Returning Officer, the names of electors, if any, subject to preventive detention, together with their addresses and electoral roll numbers and the particulars about their place of detention.

- 2. The Commission has announced Biennial Elections to the Council of States vide its Press Note No. ECI/PN/10/2024, dated 29th January, 2024 from your State.
- I am, therefore, to request that in order to facilitate voting by postal ballot by those members of the State Legislative Assembly who are the electors for the election to the Council of States (Rajya Sabha) and who may be under preventive detention, their names, number in the list of electors maintained under Section 152 of the Representation of the People Act, 1951, their places of detention and present addresses may be intimated to the concerned Returning Officer in any case before the last date of withdrawal of candidatures i.e. 20th February, 2024 (Tuesday) for all States. This would enable the Returning Officer concerned to issue the postal ballot papers to such electors immediately after the last date for the withdrawal of candidatures and to receive back the marked ballot papers in time before the counting of votes.
- 4. The receipt of this letter may kindly be acknowledged.

Yours faithfully,

(SUMAN KUMAR DAS) SECRETARY

Copy forwarded to:-

1. The Chief Electoral Officers

- 1. Andhra Pradesh, Amaravati
- 2. Telangana, Hyderabad
- 3. Chhattisgarh, Raipur
- 4. Madhya Pradesh, Bhopal
- 5. Gujarat, Gandhinagar
- 6. Karnataka, Bengaluru
- 7. Odisha, Bhubaneswar
- 8. Maharashtra, Mumbai

- 9. Haryana, Chandigarh
- 10. Rajasthan, Jaipur
- 11. Uttar Pradesh, Lucknow
- 12. Uttarakhand, Dehradun
- 13. Bihar, Patna
- 14. Himachal Pradesh, Shimla
- 15. West Bengal, Kolkata

- by Speed Post

- 2. The Secretary to the Government of India, Ministry of Home Affairs, New Delhi.
 by Spl. Messenger
- 3. The Returning Officers for the Biennial Elections to the Council of States & -
 - Sri M. Vijaya Raju, Joint Secretary, Andhra Pradesh State Legislature, Velagapudi, Amaravati-522238-cum-Returning Officer for the biennial election to the Council of States from Andhra Pradesh.
 - Sh. Raj Kumar, Secretary, Bihar Legislative Assembly, Patna-800015-cum-Returning Officer for the biennial election to the Council of States from Bihar.
 - 3 Sh. Dinesh Sharma, Secretary, Chhattisgarh Legislative Assembly, Raipur-492001-cum-Returning Officer for the biennial election to the Council of States from Chhattisgarh.
 - Mrs. Reeta Mehta, Joint Secretary, Gujarat Legislature Secretariat Vithalbhai Patel Bhavan, Sector-10, Gandhinagar-382010-cum-Returning Officer for the biennial election to the Council of States from Gujarat.
 - Sh. Saket Kumar, IAS, Managing Director, Uttar Haryana Bijli Vitaran Nigam Ltd.-Vidyut Sadan, IP No. 3 & 4, Sector-14, Panchkula, Haryana-134113-cum-Returning Officer for the biennial election to the Council of States from Haryana.
 - 6 Shri Yash Paul Sharma, IAS, Secretary, Himachal Pradesh Vidhan Sabha, Shimla -171002-cum-Returning Officer for the biennial election to the Council of States from Himachal Pradesh.
 - 7 Smt. M.K. Vishalakshi, Secretary, Karnataka Legislative Assembly, Vidhana Soudha, Bengaluru, Karnataka-560001-cum-Returning Officer for the biennial election to the Council of States from Karnataka.
 - 8 Shri Awadhesh Pratap Singh, Principal Secretary, Madhya Pradesh Vidhan Sabha Secretariat, Bhopal, Madhya Pradesh-462004-cum-Returning Officer for the biennial election to the Council of States from Madhya Pradesh.
 - 9 Sh. Jitendra Bhole, Secretary (1) Incharge, Maharashtra Legislature Secretariat, Maharashtra, Mumbai-400032-cum-Returning Officer for the biennial election to the Council of States from Maharashtra.
 - Shri Abanikanta Pattanaik, IAS, Additional Secretary to Government, Steel & Mines Department, Lok Seva Bhawan, Lok Seva Marg, Unit-2, Bhubaneswar, Odisha-751001-cum-Returning Officer for the biennial election to the Council of States from Odisha.

- Shri Mahaveer Prasad Sharma, Principal Secretary, Rajasthan Legislative Assembly Jaipur, Rajasthan-302005-cum-Returning Officer for the biennial election to the Council of States from Rajasthan.
- Sri Ch Upender Reddy, Joint Secretary, Telangana State Legislature Secretariat, Public Gardens, Hyderabad, Telangana-500004-cum-Returning Officer for the biennial election to the Council of States from Telangana.
- Sri Brij Bhushan Dubey, Special Secretary, Legislative Assembly, Uttar Pradesh, Lucknow -226001-cum-Returning Officer for the biennial election to the Council of States from Uttar Pradesh.
- Shri Chandra Mohan Goswami, Joint Secretary, Uttarakhand Legislative Assembly Dehradun, Uttarakhand-248001-cum-Returning Officer for the biennial election to the Council of States from Uttarakhand.
- Shri Sukumar Ray, Principal Secretary, West Bengal Legislative Assembly 'Assembly House', Kolkata, West Bengal-700001-cum-Returning Officer for the biennial election to the Council of States from West Bengal.

- by Speed Post

(SUMAN KUMAR DAS) SECRETARY